Sep. 9th, 2013 08:05 pm
calissa: (Default)
[personal profile] calissa
Hi there!

This post is for those people I've just met and/or those who want to get to know me. I enjoy making friends and getting to know people, so I encourage you to introduce yourself if you haven't already.

I live in Canberra, on the east coast of Australia, with my partner Sahaquiel and two dogs.

We don't have children and don't intend to; our dogs are our family. Both of them are rescue dogs. Hannah is a Basenji x Jack Russell and a total extrovert. The only things she loves more than guests are their bags. Oh, and maybe ripping the stuffing out of soft toys. Chippa is a Fox Terrier x Chihuhua. He's an introvert who had some anxiety issues when we first adopted him. I am constantly impressed with how far he has come and I know that Hannah has been instrumental in that. Incidentally, they were both named before we adopted them and it is a complete conincidence that their names rhyme.

Interests and organisations
I've been a freelance editor since 2004. You can find my editing portfolio on the Earl Grey Editing website.

Being an avid reader often goes hand-in-hand with being an editor. If you are a fellow book addict, you might be interested in getting in touch with me on Goodreads. I run a review blog on the Earl Grey Editing website. The posts are mirrored here and you can expect them two or three times a week. The blog was nominated for a Ditmar in 2017 for Best Fan Publication in Any Medium.

I've been a writer (mostly of fantasy) since I could pick up a pen, though it is mostly taking a backseat to my other priorities at the moment. A list of my writing credits can be found on my editing website. I'm a member of a thriving local community of speculative fiction writers called the Canberra Speculative Fiction Guild. They help to discourage any sanity :D

Religion is a bit of a vulnerable topic for me, so most posts in relation to that tend to be flocked. If you're interested in being added just ask. So that you know what you're getting into, I am a Pagan with an interest in Druidry. Relatedly, I'm a bit of a geology geek and have a fascination with clouds that I blame on [personal profile] moonvoice.

I've been a roleplayer since 2000. Most of that time was spent playing 3.5 ed Dungeons and Dragons campaigns set in the Forgotten Realms. However, these days my GM (who is also my sweetheart) is expanding into new systems. We're just about to start a new campaign of Apocalypse World.

I am a total tea addict (of all kinds). Photography is also a growing interest (and, judging from my father and sister, one for which I have a genetic predisposition). I share a lot of my photos here (as is probably evident).

I do have some health troubles, mostly to do with my upper body, arms and hands. Sometimes managing the pain can be a challenge and can limit the amount of time I can write and spend on the computer.

I also like to get to know people. So if you have any questions, feel free to ask. :D

Last updated on 3 July 2017.

Date: 2013-09-09 07:56 pm (UTC)
onewhitecrow: cowboy knitting pink jumper on horseback (knitting)
From: [personal profile] onewhitecrow
Do you own a samovar?


calissa: (Default)

October 2017


Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Oct. 17th, 2017 04:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios